Teacher Certification: Robert Morris University

Teacher Certification

Teachers Change Lives

The Teacher Education Programs at Robert Morris University will help you become the teacher you want to be.

RMU offers Bachelor's programs in Education with teacher certification, and also offers programs for individuals who have completed an undergraduate bachelor’s degree program and now wish to teach:

  • Biology Teacher Certification (Grades 7-12)
  • Business, Computer & Information Technology Certification (Grades K-12)
  • Early Childhood Education Teacher Certification (Grades PreK-4)
  • English Teacher Certification (Grades 7-12)
  • English/Communications Teacher Certification (Grades 7-12)
  • Mathematics Teacher Certification (Grades 7-12)
  • Social Studies Teacher Certification (Grades 7-12)

All of these options can be easily combined with a Master of Science (M.S.) in Instructional Leadership by taking three additional classes.  In addition, you can also earn the following certifications in that Master's program:

There is also Reading Specialist Certification available within the M.Ed. in Literacy, and Special Education Certification available within the M.Ed. in Special Education

Why Choose RMU for your Certification Program?

Courses in the teacher certification program are taught by full-time faculty members and experienced professionals. Students gain a solid foundation in theory and practice through interdisciplinary study, student teaching and field experiences.

caepAll programs meet the new certification requirements established by the Pennsylvania Department of Education, and are currently accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).